I Used To Go Out To Parties

Volunteer

The title refers to one of my favorite songs of all time, ‘Got To Give It Up’ by Mr. Marvin Gaye. The first line describes my life pretty accurately. I used to go out to parties-I no longer do. (Party in a can RIGHT HERE.) However, the last lyrics in the song I would say capture my current state. ‘You got to get it, got to give it up.’

The thing that I ‘got to get’ is satisfaction from something. I have a sense of wanderlust in many aspects of my life and deep inside my brain, and sticking to one thing can be quite difficult to me. Quite often, I will start projects and never finish them. Either because I lose interest, or something else captures my attention. Sometimes I feel like I am the gypsy lady that owned that chocolate shop in the movie ‘Chocolat.’ The wind will blow-and indicate to me that I need to move on. Or do I? I think I am reaching a critical point in my life where I must learn to slow down and truly savor the sweetness.

In order to renew my sense of satisfaction, I need to ‘Give it up.’ I had to finally look around to find things that truly satisfy me. No-not my Golden Girls DVD collection. Not my books with the tattered edges. Not even the funniest internet memes. One thing that gave me satisfaction-was in fact a chubby, red-haired snorting creature with eyes that bug out when I say the word, ‘treat’. Man’s (woman’s in this case) best friend.

I can’t describe the sense of peace and satisfaction I feel when I take him for walks. It’s just he and I and the path ahead of us. My little faithful friend who is there to comfort me when I feel sad, and so excited to see me even I’m away for 5 minutes. He is my treasure.

When I took him to dog parks, some people would mention that he would be a great therapy dog. I didn’t really know much about it, so I looked into it. 6 months later, and an exam-my little snorting friend is now a dog that has a much bigger purpose than just loving me. I just finished my orientation at the Foothills hospital, so that I can share the satisfaction and love I feel, with everyone who is in need of that same type of satisfaction and love. It is so therapeutic to just pet a dog. Sounds too simple-as it is one of those gifts in life that too many of us take for granted. I am truly blessed that I get to meet people in this way-and I can’t wait.

Real treasure in life is sharing your love with others. Volunteering is to ‘give it up.’ If you want to volunteer, but aren’t sure what opportunity would best suit you, here is a tip: examine what it is about yourself that puts you in a state of humility and generosity. When you are able to think of yourself less (humility) and truly give your heart to someone who cannot help you in any way (generosity) I feel you will be satisfied in the volunteer opportunity you choose. Also on the flip-side, others will benefit greatly from what deeply satisfies your heart. It’s a win-win.

My furry friend just put his paw on my arm as I type this. I forgot that it is ‘treat o’clock’.

Thank you to ALL volunteers in all fields who make this world a better place. And a very special thank you to all the volunteers in life who go unnoticed.

Tiffany Zoe

puppyjohn

Author: Tiffany Zoe

Fervent/Observant.

Leave a Reply

