Take The Rolls-Royce

Transformation

“When things don’t happen right away just remember, it takes 6 months to build a Rolls-Royce and 13 hours to build a Toyota.”

funny-rolls-royce-luxury-car


Let’s pretend for a moment that I could trade in my crappy toaster on wheels (2005 Dodge SX2.0..I apologize) for a beautiful brand new car. I could choose between the Rolls, and the Toyota Camry (#momcars) but here would be the catch: I could drive away the Toyota today, but I would have to wait for the Rolls for 6 months. Would you wait for the best life has to offer? Or would you accept the ‘OK’ version?

Now if you talk to any crappy car owner, they would jump at the chance to own any new vehicle period. Regardless of model or make-even a new Dodge. (I’m a Dodge owner- I reserve the right to be salty.) But if someone made you this Rolls-Royce offer, you would absolutely take it. Everyone would take it. Why? Because it’s better. The best things always takes time. Not just cars, but everything. It took J.R.R. Tolkien 12 years to write ‘The Hobbit.’ It took James Cameron 12 years to make the movie ‘Avatar.’ It takes two days to make bagels (the Rolls-Royce of bread.) ‘Good things come to those who wait’ is fine enough for other people, but really-we need it NOW. Actually, we needed it yesterday. We live at a time where ‘life is short’ and you need to do it now.

Let’s place this principle on ourselves. If we want to transform our lives, our relationships, our health, our careers; it cannot happen today. We may not be who we want to be in 6 months or even 6 years. We need to first take small steps in the right direction. We have to put up with waiting (patience is NOT one of my virtues.) We need to go through the daily motions-why? Because we know that if we do, it will make a difference. Small daily changes can transform your life.

Being a piano player, I can relate. Can you play Chopin in two hours? No. And nobody would ever question that. Why? Because truly great things take time and dedication. Do I like to practice? No. It’s drudgery to keep playing the same G and F scales over and over and over again. I get frustrated when my pinky finger seems to be just too short-and I hit two keys at the same time 50 times. However, the more I practice, the more I improve. My fingers hit the keys better. When I practice, my mind and my body become harmonious with my intentions-I intend to be great one day.

Don’t drive through life in a Toyota (sorry mom)-wait for the Rolls.

Tiffany

 

 

Author: Tiffany Zoe

Fervent/Observant.

Leave a Reply

